Beauty and the Beast: A tale as old as mine.

Now I know you’re wondering why I have a whole post around Beauty and the Beast. But if you’re thinking that, I probably haven’t shared my love of all things Disney and animated and singing and so on. The original version was released in 1991. So I was just a wee tyke and it became my favourite Disney Princess movie there was! Of course. Oh, and I saw Beauty and the Beast today!!!!

disneyprincesses.png

I mean Snow White had some cool songs but we always had to fast forward through the ‘scary’ scenes so even I’m not sure what I’ve missed of that.

Sleeping Beauty I don’t really remember, Cinderella is a classic and I adored the live-action remake. Seeing it on Broadway with Laura Osnes was phenomenal.

Mulan is amazing, who doesn’t bust out ‘I’ll make a man out of you‘ when you need to get pump for something. You might even have it on your workout Playlist, but that’s private info right?
Aladdin – awesome, I’ve seen the Broadway musical too so I love it.

Little Mermaid – Ariel. I only recently found out she is meant to be 16…actually don’t quote me on that. But how luscious is that hair, straight after getting out of the water. I am yet to see someone pull off, and I mean really own a shell swimmers top as well as Ariel does.  Under the Sea is one of the first songs I learnt to play at school on the Saxophoen. Pretty amazing I know! Line up boys.

Oh I cannot forget Pocahontas. Obviously you know all the words to ‘Colours of the Wind‘ am I right? Or maybe just me and my sister…

You can get into Frozen and Tangled, which don’t get me wrong, are amazing but I’m talking the Disney princesses that I grew up with. Everyone in their 20s at least knows their songs.

Beauty and the Beast has amazing songs, empowering and beautifully composed. They are catchy and you picture this strong, confident woman getting about her day, just doing her thing.

Honestly, who hasn’t wished they had a library and ballroom exactly like in the castle…come on! Have you even made it unless you need a ladder on wheels to reach all of your books? Pfft. Plebs.

Emma Watson is a perfect fit. I’m not saying I wasn’t a teeny tiny bit worried about the songs but I apologise Emma for my lack of faith. You were superb! Obviously I think you’re the bees knees, I mean Hermione! But you can sing, act, dance and be amazing. Oh and pull off a YELLOW dress. Who can do that!

Dan Stevens as the shockingly realistic looking beast and that beautiful voice. It helped his castle was filled with furniture and objects that when given a note fill the grand dining room with beautiful melodies.

Everything about this movie was divine. Of course I am the only critic that matters, but I adored how it stayed true to the original and yet had a fresh feel to it.

The casting was on point too.

2017batbcast

Look at that stellar line-up. Audra McDonald’s singing was instantly recognisable. So amazing. Then to have her become the wonderful Madame Garderobe. Highly strung, robust and great!

Gaston is a wonderful. I know he is the villain, the male lead who wants nothing more than to a wife in Belle to fulfill the traditional gender roles…blah blah blah. Luke Evans is awesome. His version of Gaston, brings out the humbleness, chivalrous and sincere traits in Gaston…actually if you want to see that…Gaston isn’t really your guy.

Emma Thompson, Ian McKellen, Josh Gad, Ewan McGregor, Kevin Kline…way to pack it full of amazingness. Each part was amazingly cast and because of this the movie was superb. I was laughing, giggling, sitting in suspense and holding onto my popcorn throughout the movie just as much as the children in the rows around me (maybe I teach a few of them, so we will be able to discuss it in class, going through each play by-play. Naturally)

10/10 would recommend. Obviously.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Abbie says:

    I need to see this still! Thanks for the reminder 🙂 I was never allowed to watch this as a child because my mother was convinced that it would be too scary for me, so I’ve got some catching up to do

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you’re welcome. It is magical. If you love Disney and musicals, I’m sure you will enjoy it. Let me know what you think of it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

